Skip to content
Tags

Self Description

September 29, 2011

What am I like?  Is it possible to view oneself objectively, or is this a contradiction in terms?

I don’t do normal.  For me variety is desirable as an end in itself.  So is growth.  Growth implies change.  Growth also implies consistency.  One indicator of progress is that you are doing the same thing over and over again, because it means that you are accumulating related experience.  However, this is also an indicator of stagnation.  You have to use your judgment.

I’ve already got a head start on being a high-powered blogger by sleeping polyphasically.  This is something that I really like about my life right now.  I have my own formula for it.  It mostly boils down to the following: 1) sleep whenever you feel like it; 2) sleep for up to four hours at a time, but no longer; and 3) avoid stimulants during the day, because they will practically force you to go to sleep at night.  If you are sleepy during the day, take a nap; this will help you to be alert at night, when most other people are sleeping, which has a number of benefits, particularly for creative sorts like, well, all of us.

My spirituality is Taoism (physically embodied through tai chi), Unitarian Universalism, and Tantra.  I resonate with Peter Joseph’s definition of spirituality as recognizing the interconnectedness of all reality.  This implies that science is spiritual.  To some this might seem a contradiction, others have known it all along.  Science is also my spirituality.

My spirituality is also Moneytheism, which is the affirmation of the energetic nature of money.  It is likewise an attitude of not only seeking abundance and fulfillment, but also welcoming them into one’s life wholeheartedly.

My spirituality is also polyamory, in polite company simply an alternative lifestyle choice, but for those of us who practice, a highly rewarding, ongoing process of spiritual purification.

I like people and I value connecting for its own sake.  Human relationships are one area of life that need no external justification; they are an end in themselves.  Fortunately the pervasive loneliness in our society is largely self imposed.

I am a Polyamorous Polymath, a Renaissance Soul living life on a steep growth curve.  I find that being too comfortable makes me uncomfortable.  Just getting to a place where I can relax and chill out is not my overarching ambition.

At 30 years old, I don’t feel like I have my life figured out.  I feel substantially misaligned.  I am not at peace.

I like kitty kats, unikorns, smiley faces, and other cutesy things.

I believe competition, relative to cooperation, is universally toxic in human affairs and has no redeeming value for the human species as a whole.  Alfie Kohn has helped to convince me of this.

The unboundedness of human potential is one of my fundamental values.  Abraham Maslow has helped to convince me of this.

I’m not a birthday person.  Age is not something I attach a lot of significance to, and I generally don’t care to keep track of it.  If I had my own birthday tradition, though, it would be that on your birthday you give presents to people who are special to you.

I grew up playing in the woods.  I think this is an ideal setting for childhood.  I also think Arkansas is a great place to be FROM.

I am a teacher by nature, but the last place I would want to confine myself is inside one of our so-called learning institutions.

I don’t believe in “that’s just the way it is”.  All things have the potential to change, and we are the agents of our own will.  Reality is a consensus, and your belief is your vote.  Think about that the next time you settle for resignation to the undesirable.

In conversation I tend to be challenging and stimulating.  I often make reference to authors and their works.  I probably know something that you would find interesting.

I have a list of heroes, people who lead by example and reveal qualities that I value and experiences that I aspire to.  Some of them I have met, others are still coming up.

I am a writer.  One who writes.

Update: in D&D terms, I am a level 8 Monk, a level 7 Bard, a level 6 Ranger, and a level 5 Rogue: My Character Sheet

From → Navel Lint

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

World Tai Chi & Qigong Day San Diego 2017 @ The World Beat Center

Free & Open To The Public Charity "Funraiser"

Chai Tea Tai Chi

Activate Your Superpowers

