Skip to content

Dyer on Resisting Cultural Imprinting

March 10, 2012

Excerpted from Your Erroneous Zones by Dr. Wayne Dyer:

Every day we are bombarded with hundreds of cultural messages that encourage us to seek approval. The songs that we hear each day are filled with lyrical messages of approval-seeking, particularly the best-selling “popular” songs…Those sweet harmless lyrics may be more damaging than you realize….

Perhaps you can try an exercise the next time you find yourself listening to a song that sends out the communiques of approval-seeking. Check for those lyrics which reflect the way you’ve been taught to feel, that is, that you can’t make it if someone disapproves of you or lets you down. Rewrite the songs to fit a mind-set of personal mastery rather than approval-seeking. For example:

– I make myself feel like a natural woman; it has nothing to do with you.
– I chose to love you. I must have wanted to do it then, but now I’ve changed my mind.
– People who need people are the unluckiest people in the world. But people who want love and enjoy people are making themselves happy.
– I make myself so very happy because of the things I tell myself about you.
– I am the sunshine of my life, and having you in it makes it even brighter.
– I can stop loving you, but at this point I choose not to.

3 Comments
  1. Thank you for the post. I have not yet read “Your Erroneous Zones”. Ironically, I did blog something similar at http://influenceversuscontrol.com/1/post/2012/01/you-make-me-feel-edit.html

    • I see you are a newly serious blogger like myself. Congratulations on keeping up the consistency. Any tips on building a subscriber base? You seem to be doing a good job of it.

      • Hello Dane. I have read a few blogs on building a subscriber base. Three recommendations include: 1) Focusing on the quality of writing 2) Blog consistently 3) read other people’s blogs and comment when appropriate. I noticed the greatest improvement in readership once I started blogging more consistetnly. When I first read about focusing on writing quality, I over-analyzed what I was proposing to post and then had a period where I did not blog consistently. I am finding a balance of writing something that has value to the reader in the time that I have allowed to write.

        Have fun and good luck!

Leave a Reply

World Tai Chi & Qigong Day San Diego 2017 @ The World Beat Center

Free & Open To The Public Charity "Funraiser"

Chai Tea Tai Chi

Activate Your Superpowers

